DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Curious on what and how you use you color profiles and if you post edit? (All the time??)

Carl Thomas

Reactions
Hi all,

I am relatively new to drone flying, photography and video editing.

I absolutely love flying and always have. Since a few years now I have a benign brain tumor which has a significant impact on certain aspects of my life. It was at this moment I decided to finally look for a new hobby and got into drone flying.

As a member of the Mavic club I need not explain my aircraft. I have purchased almost every possible accessory and fly with a fly more combo a crystalsky monitor, polar Pro 2x 6 filters and always carry my drone around with me in my LowePro Dronegaurd BP250 with extra props etc. In other words I’m fully equipped.

I have done plenty of research of the Internet forums and YouTube and have configured my aircraft accordingly. I film and shoot in manual mood and check all presets before each flight. Until now I have always shot my images and video in 4K mov in D-Log but find the imagery “muddy” and very flat resulting in having to post correct everything. I am not much of an editor and have purchased FCPX (for Mac) bought Ground Control LUTs and plenty of MotionVFX Plugins but find it a major hassle to edit every single shot and footage. Which takes me hours to get the imagery to my liking (even the LUTs don’t look good to me).

Does everyone always shoot in D-Log and or Cinelike and if yes, do you always correct al imagery? Are the pilots out there who choose other Color Profiles such as Vivid or what ever other profiles there are and who are happy with those results and hardly work on their images (besides trimming or cropping)?

What software is there or would you recommend for a Mac OSX?