DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI Fly App will not allow me to take off

muabg

Reactions
Let me start this rant off by saying the I am a 107 Certified drone pilot who has flown drone commercially for over 10 years all across North America, Europe and Asia and I have flown almost every DJI product form the original phantom. I have thousands of hours on all sorts of remotely piloted aircraft

So I decided to buy the Mavic Mini and an ultra-light option for my travels but I have just found out that I can non fly this aircraft in my backyard where I have always flown all of my DJI aircraft without any problems.
Apparently the new DJI Fly app lists my house as a restricted no fly area and the mini will not start up. There does not seem be any way to unlock no fly areas in the new DJI Fly app.

I live in Class G airspace, and according to AirMap App and FAA B4UFLY App there are absolutely no flight restrictions where I live

Any suggestions on how to proceed?
:mad::mad::mad:

Attachments

• DJI FLYa.jpg
    DJI FLYa.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 66
  • DJY FLYb.jpg
    DJY FLYb.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 66
  • DJY FLYc.jpg
    DJY FLYc.jpg
    598.9 KB · Views: 68
  • DJY FLYd.jpg
    DJY FLYd.jpg
    697.3 KB · Views: 62
  • AirMap.JPG
    AirMap.JPG
    87.2 KB · Views: 59
  • B4UFly.JPG
    B4UFly.JPG
    60.6 KB · Views: 58
Apparently the new DJI Fly app lists my house as a restricted no fly area and the mini will not start up. There does not seem be any way to unlock no fly areas in the new DJI Fly app.
Per the Mavic Mini FAQ, you'll have to wait until late December when DJI allows GEO zones to be unlocked in DJI Fly.

Reactions: Thomas B