DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI MM crashes into sea for no reason!!!

Jaypa99

Reactions
Hi

Im currently on my travel journey around Australia and today just been flying my drone at the beach next to me! Not even far away.. anyway

I updated the homepoint like ever and flew my drone approximately 20 meters straight next to me into the sky to take pictures of the beach

The weather was amazing, clear blue sky, no clouds, no wind!!!!

I’ve got the drone for two months now and I’m a careful pilot and would never fly the drone without caution!

My drone was 50 percent charged and was connected via GPS to 11 satellites!!

As I flew my drone 20 meters into the sky to bring the drone to a nice spot I let go of controls.

As I let go of the controls, the drone immediately started spiraling out of control and crashed into the sea!

At no point was there any error messages displayed. Nothing like this has ever happened to me before!
The drone was flying for only 2 minutes and broke down.
the DJI Service and Stores told me I probably have to pay for it but obviously it wasn’t my fault..

Need help! Thanks

Reactions: Peter VS
You need to post the logs but I am just assuming here that probably one of the props was loose and the drone lost the prop in mid air. But one of the experts here will be able to analyze the log.

Reactions: Drone Master
I was flying over water and it suddenly lost altitude, I just saved it in time. Hasn't done it since but it's a worry because I fly over water all the time...
At 7.55 you see it drop, that's not me doing it.

That sucks man...Sorry to hear!! SMH. I'm not an expert by any means, but the fact that you started out using a battery that was depleted to 50% is something I would never do. I'm pretty sure you should always start out with a fully charged RC and fully charged aircraft.

Reactions: Zeke
Hi