DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

DJI repair sent me a refurb

FLDronePilot

Reactions
Crashed my MA2, sent it in to DJI for repair. They sent back a new/refurb drone with a different serial number. Caught me by surprise to see a new drone in the box. Assuming it's a refurb.

Being a complete newb, I guess I should go on FAADroneZone and un-register my other S/N and then register the new one?

@FLDronePilot no need if you are only flying for hobby purposes ,the registration number you have is for you, and can be used on any drones you own
unless i have got it wrong then i apologise in advance

I'll be flying under part 107. The original drone was registered under part 107.
ok then you will need to change it as each drone has to have a separate number thanks for replying

Do not be concerned with a DJI refurbished unit. They are 100% as good as new. I purchased my Mavic 2 Pro as a retail refurbished unit, though through an authorized vendor and was surprised that I couldn't tell that it was a refurb down to the packaging. I couldn't believe the deal I got and I have to remind myself that my M2P is in fact a refurb. Not a single thing to indicate it. I'm sure that DJI did not send you new packaging, but I'm quite sure you can fly it with confidence. At some point I will want an M3 but will wait for refurbs to be available as I am not in a hurry and the savings on my M2 was substantial.

Reactions: JTZ
  • How can I identify a refurbished product?
    Check the serial number. For all refurbished products, the fifth from last character will be "S"or "R".
The new S/N doesn't have a S or R in that place. It has an R in the second to the last character.