DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Dji support - good news story

camhill

Reactions
Good news story - DJI SUPPORT - Mavic Pro went swimming

Firstly - I believe the Mavic pro is marketed as a high-end beginner/intermediate drone and is targeted at people that want to fly a quality drones and as such highlights easy to use features like flight modes, RTH & obstacle avoidance etc it also adds the extra reassurance for beginners with the DJI refresh plans.

I posted a crash video awhile ago and it meet with some pretty negative (unhelpful "I'm a pro flyer") feedback all pointing the finger to me saying that it was my fault. (for a number of different reasons) however in my defence the Mavic pro is "almost" marketed as "crash proof" and in the unlikely event that it does crash DJI will replace/fix it.

Now I know that's not exactly correct but its the image sold to me when purchasing & I'm sure many others feel a similar way when making the $2000 purchase.

The Mavic pro also gives you a lot of confidents because it is so user friendly & simple to fly it seems you can literally take it anywhere that CASA lets you go.

So 6 days after with 4 hours flying time under my belt my mavic went swimming in toxic, illegal to swim in river in the heart of my beautiful city Melbourne, Devastated.

Link to the video -

These were some of the responses from my crash video that was posted.

- No I didn't hit the bridge
- There were no warning signs going off prior to crash
- Batteries clipped in & charged
- Full line of sight - less than 50m away
- Was not a landing because I was flying to low over water / Yes I had my downward sensors on - where does it tell to turn off in the manuals?
- Yes it was a big metal bridge & powerlines on top - but no tutorial's, manuals or beginner guides tell you not to fly under bridges - plus line of site so if gps kicked out atti mode should have recovered it?
- Best for last - pilot error