DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Do I need a WiFi signal to fly?

I am new to uav flying and wondering about WiFi signal and strength effecting flight? I’m using crystalsky monitor...
If you are asking do you need to be able to get internet data via wifi, no.
You can fly without any connection to the internet at all.

Captain Lou

As Meta4 says you do not need a WiFi signal to the Crystalsky monitor to fly your drone, you do not need any kind of monitor or phone to fly your drone, you only need your RC, but without a monitor you are certainly limited to line of sight ( you are LOS limited anyway ..theoretically ), and of course without a monitor you cant frame your shots.
That said however, unless you have WiFi or 4G the maps in crystalsky will not show up, you will still get your flight path indicated but it wont be overlaid on a map.

But as I do you can if your phone has 4G, use its hotspot and connect your crystalsky to your phone, then you will get maps...

Waylander

Reactions: ff22
Captain Lou

As Meta4 says you do not need a WiFi signal to the Crystalsky monitor to fly your drone, you do not need any kind of monitor or phone to fly your drone, you only need your RC, but without a monitor you are certainly limited to line of sight ( you are LOS limited anyway ..theoretically ), and of course without a monitor you cant frame your shots.
That said however, unless you have WiFi or 4G the maps in crystalsky will not show up, you will still get your flight path indicated but it wont be overlaid on a map.

But as I do you can if your phone has 4G, use its hotspot and connect your crystalsky to your phone, then you will get maps...

Waylander

You can cache maps in advance if you won't have any internet connection in the field. Check the upper right menu in the Go app before you hit the FLY button.

Reactions: mfishhead