Does DJI Assistant 2 actually work..?

Discussion in 'Mavic Pro Platinum' started by Woolnut, Feb 13, 2018.

  1. Woolnut

    Woolnut Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    UK
    So i have been trying to get my Mavic to connect to the DJI Assistant 2 app, for months! Admittedly i had given up but i have decided to try again this evening...

    For some reason, the app cannot find the Mavic; it finds the controller straight away but it just will not connect to the Mavic! Below is a list of the things i have tried so far:

    • Installing DJI Assistant (Disable driver signature enforcement)
    • Uninstalled DJI Assistant, installed again
    • Various USB cables
    • Various USB ports (USB 3 x 2 on board) USB Type C Hub (USB 3.0 x 3)
    • Manually run .bat files to install drivers
    • Installed certificate to certificate store
    • Rebooted Laptop
    • Rebooted Mavic (multiple times)
    • Starting the app first, then Mavic
    • Starting Mavic first, then app
    • Device Manager uninstall driver
    • Device Manager manual point to driver location
    • Taken SD card out before connecting
    • Disabled Anti Virus (i don't even have a third party AV)
    Laptop
    HP Elitebook 1040 G3; Windows 10 x64; 16GB DDR4; 512GB M2 SSD


    I am sure there are more that i have tried, but i think the above just about proves the point... It doesn't seem that DJI wan't this to work? I will try another laptop shortly, but i really cannot see any reason why the laptop would be the problem..

    There are numerous posts on the DJI Forum about this issue, and i know there are other posts here about it. Has anyone here been able to get this app to work..? (excluding the lucky people who this worked for straight after install :p ) All of the threads i have found with "solutions" haven't worked for me :/
     
  2. snitchonthis

    snitchonthis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    New York City
    what does this app do and why do you want it to work this bad?
    i tried to quickly google it but all that comes up are people complaining about it?
     
  3. ChipDjipro

    ChipDjipro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    28
    Personally I’ve never used it.
     
  4. Thunderdrones

    Thunderdrones Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    2,007
    Location:
    Duluth, Georgia
    You could try it on your other laptop and see what happens. I like to use it on my desktop, makes FOA calibration easier than on my laptop.
     
  5. lolo780

    lolo780 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    300
    I use it on 2 laptops and a desktop with no issues. Win 7 and 10.
    Try another program like dumldore or dumlracer and see if they connect.
     
  6. gjmphoto

    gjmphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've used it for the first time two days ago and it did work...win 10. What I did notice was that it didn't connect until I hooked up all my cables and started assistant BEFORE turning the mpp on. Them everything connected well and I was able to do all I wanted to do. Try that order if you haven't yet...start assistant then hook up the cables then start the drone...maybe?
     
  7. ChrisJP

    ChrisJP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    23
    Same here.
    Using x86 Win7: never had an issue upgrading with Assistant 2 v1.2.0
    I plug the USB on the side of the RC, connect the RC with the AC and Assistant 2 is upgrading both RC&AC w/o issue
     
  8. edu2ev

    edu2ev Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    33
    Maybe the cable or the micro USB port in mavic could be the problem, since that cover in the USB port make it too tight to plug any cabled other than the one which comes with the mavic.
     
  9. Renaissance_Man

    Renaissance_Man New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arvada, Colorado
    I got error message indicating that my sensors were out of calibration and I should contact DJI. I did, but I also found a good video on YouTube on using the app. I loaded it up and did the calibration and now all is working as it should.



    One thing about the video, he states that he had to change his display to a different setting. I did that right away, but it did not work for me. I changed back to the highest setting that I always use and all was fine then.

    If you haven't printed the manual from the DJI website, it's worth the paper. They also mention using this app in the manual.

    Rich
     
  10. Woolnut

    Woolnut Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    UK
    So I was able to get DJI Assistant2 to work on my other HP Laptop... But it has a tiny screen, so doesn’t really work for me (which is why I don’t use it...)

    I haven’t given up on my other Laptop, but I have tried everything I can think of so far
     
  11. ChrisJP

    ChrisJP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    23
    If trying to update, did you try connecting the Mavic with the remote (while the remote is plugged to te USB port)?
    Assistant (1.2.0) will update both RC and AC -
     
    #11 ChrisJP, Feb 17, 2018 at 4:21 PM
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018 at 4:32 PM
  12. Lee51

    Lee51 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bozeman Montana USA
    I worked all last weekend and here is what I found:
    1) launch app connect controller to laptop through cable turn on controller connect controller to drone - should work
    If not ignore everything you have heard about connecting and try this
    2) Connect drone to computer turn on drone look in printed/devices wait for it to come up as unknown devise in connected devises right click it go to check driver should be ok if not upgrade driver then launch check device and repair problems - should move to device recognized as drone
    3) now launch the app and it should now appear in app
    4) I know they tell you exactly backwards to what I’m saying but this was the only way I could get app to acknowledge my Spark and my Mavic - the app would see and bring up my Remote Controller for the Mavic - they say you can’t connect a RC for the Spark to the app - but after 2 days I didn’t bother to try
    5) upgrade when starting up to fly and it says you need to upgrade or what ever it tell you that you need to do something before your fly - I assume you can connect pad directly to internet
    how this helps - drive me slightly crazy trying everything but backwards to get it to work
    Cheers
     
  13. s4chico

    s4chico New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    For shitz and giggles.....try disabling your AV.
     
  14. fbcx

    fbcx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually, I did use it as a last resort with I was unable to do a regular update. Gotta admit I was a bit bumfuzzled as to how to do it, then I went to the MAVIC Support Website and looked at their video explanations. When I replicated what they showed, it worked like a charm. You can find it here:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Does DJI Assistant Forum Date
DJI Assistant 2 doesnt let me login Mavic Pro Discussions Jan 19, 2017
Does the Mavic Air work with the DJI go app on the Ipad ? Mavic Air Feb 8, 2018
Does DJI have a heatmap (Strava running app)? General Discussions Feb 1, 2018
older version djigo4 doesn’t work with iphone x??? Firmware & Software Discussion Jan 26, 2018
Cheap DJI Mavic Clone That doesn't suck! General Discussions Jan 13, 2018