DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone Business, suggestions and advice?

Essjayne

Reactions
Hi everybody,

So I've been really on the idea of trying to start up a business flying drones. There are so many uses for aerial footage from art to real estate to advertising etc. that I think it would be feasible to eventually do this full time (down the road with a lot of hard work of course). I'm a trained photographer, but I ended up pursuing a different means of supporting myself financially so I would not get burnt out doing the thing I love all the time.
(There are many reasons I went the way I did, but a one big one was I was never big on portrait work and there being if I spend all of my time shooting and editing other people's weddings/parties etc I would not want to spend my free time on my own work, which was always much more large composition focused using found geometry, buildings and landscapes.) However in flying my drone I've found that it's something I could see myself doing full time and through sharing some footage and having discussions with people in my area (Long Island) I've found a few potentially solid market ideas that I think could really work out.

I'm wondering how many of you have gone this route and if you have any advice, suggestions, tales of caution etc.

Currently I'm 24 and I am fortunate that I have a decent paying job that has already indicated they would be flexible so I can get this off the ground. (Pun totally intended)

Hi everybody,