DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drone "Camp" ideas

Airwolf1970

Reactions
Hello Drone Community.
I have been a remote pilot for almost 10 years now and I fly several times a week for my job (I work in real estate development)
I have been asked to lead a drone camp for middle school kids this coming summer. The school hosting the camps asked me if it was possible for a student to be able to purchase a small drone that they take home with them at the end of the camp week. Has anyone had any experience with a similar situation? I want them to get a drone that is easy to fly, possibly can take pictures as well, but is not a cheap piece of junk that will be a struggle to deal with all week.

I am looking at this model as a possible option:

and for non-camera I am looking at this one:

I will have my Mavic 3, Mavic2Pro, and Phantom 3ADV (non flying) at the camp as examples of drones and how they have evolved but again want something they can fly during the week and take home with them as part of the cost of their camp.
Anyone have any experience with the above linked drones? Better suggestions? Thanks!
Bill
Pittsboro, NC

I think this is a great opportunity as well as a great program.
I wish ( and I'm sure I WILL) have some suggestions for you but I just wanted to acknowledge this effort as well as bumping the post. +1

We have 20 Tello in our college program - they are a great learn-to-fly drone. We built up the package to $200 pretty quick as below.

1. A batt goes maybe 12 minutes; we bought the Boost Combo version with 3 batts and a multi-charger. It’s a sequential charger. And three 10-port USB chargers (link), though that’s not the model we have. Seems to be gone.