DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Drones & limits.

JFangs

Reactions
Hey guys, Drone noob here. Ever since I got my drone last year, it seems that there is less & less area available to actually fly. I got a Mavic Pro 2 Zoom last year. Ended up not taking to Mexico twice (Mexico City & Cabo) bc their law says no foreigners can fly without permission, although I certainly saw tourists with drones in Cabo. Had fun using it Tahiti last week, although the weather wasn't working out in my favor & my range was limited due to an airport nearby. I have a trip coming up next month in Ecuador & it seems drones are illegal in Galapagos Islands. I also planned on visiting the Grand Canyon & Antelope canyon this summer & they seem to forbid drone use. The more I travel, the more it seems there are many restrictions on dones internationally. In your opinion, in the future are there any benefits to drones instead of getting NFZ warnings, high winds warnings or simply being grounded?

Some places - like national parks, designated nature reserves, world heritage sites (both natural and cultural) - should be no-drone zones and I honestly don't empathize with people who want to fly in these. If you have the good fortune to be in the midst of these, soak the experience in and live the moment rather than trying to capture an image of it. But I don't get why some countries make it illegal for some people to fly drones based on citizenship - the fact of you being a local or a foreign national should have no bearing on whether you can fly a drone.

If you do something illegal flying your drone and you are a citizen of that country, they may be able to find you and fine you. Hard to do if you fly and leave the country.

Reactions: JFangs