DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Eclipse Photos

Are they really eclipse photos? I didn't think a DSLR would pick up solar Flares?
Or is that just light bleeding through a filter or something

I used a Nikon D500 with 200-500 AF- S Nikkor Lens and TC-14E III teleconverter. For the corona shots, I did not use a filter. When the sun was exposed, I used a Lee 100x100 mm Eclipse Filter in a Lee Holder. The pictures of the shadow moving across the sun are kinda of boring. But, honestly, as I looked through the viewfinder at first totality, my breath was literally taken away. I think these photos probably rank as my all time favorite at this time. I've been shooting for 32 years, and I felt like a little kid when I saw these. The shots I posted are absolute plain shots with very, very little post.

My flares were not as clear. Shot on a Nikon d5600 with the kit 70-300 af-p lense at 300mm. Im still very pleased with the pics I got. I would have loved to have thrown the drone up in the air to catch the shodow moving across the ground but to many people.
DSC_0100.jpg by gmartell69, on Flickr
DSC_0105.jpg by gmartell69, on Flickr
DSC_0149.jpg by gmartell69, on Flickr

woaw.. guys congratulations they are amazing pictures!! is there any chance to have a less compressed image to download? I'd love it! thank you and good job really!

Mavric1008 - that is sweet! Your photos are the first I've seen showing solar flares. You got the same ones that I did. Duhh, I get it that everyone saw the same thing, but, it is still very cool in my opinion. I will add some higher resolution photos when I get home from the office.

Gah. Got to see about 65%, then a rain cloud came over the backside of the mountain I was perched on and cut loose.