DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Editing videos

Reactions
Hey y’all!

Have a few questions on how editing videos works . I’m brand new to editing ,
I’ve put my m2p video mode to 4K HQ hoping to be able to zoom on content in while editing .

Can I edit videos through an iPad or do I need a laptop ?
What do you recommend for a editing app or software?

Thanks !
CL

I use iMovie on a iPad Pro. Fairly easy to learn and free. Handles 4K H.264, not sure about H.265.

There are many options out there. It all depends on what you're goals are. When approaching new endeavors that I think I'm going to like I've never been disappointed when I set out to equip myself with something I can grow into instead of grow out of. So I'm biased.

I am a huge fan of Davinci Resolve. Not only is it a powerful piece of editing software, but the standard full-featured version is FREE- available for both Mac and PC! They just came out with version 17 and IMO the features are simply mind blowing for free software. It has 90% of what their upgraded software has and is not dumbed down and limitations are minor compared to their $300 Studio version. You would need hardware to accomodate it. But interestingly it is optimized for the very inexpensive Mac Mini M1. You could edit Davinci Resolve on a laptop if it has the processing requirements, but us older folks need at least a 27" screen to do anything meaningful ?.

My 02¢ worth

I have used the newer version of Windows Movie Maker to do the basic stuff like cutting and splicing and adding titles

Hey y’all!

Have a few questions on how editing videos works . I’m brand new to editing ,
I’ve put my m2p video mode to 4K HQ hoping to be able to zoom on content in while editing .

Can I edit videos through an iPad or do I need a laptop ?
What do you recommend for a editing app or software?

Thanks !
CL
Your question sounds, like, "hey, I like that brain surgery. Can you show me how to do it?"