DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Esc Error/ bad motor fixed!

Dr_Richtofen_21

Reactions
Hello all. I am typing in this forum in order to document (in detail) my experience with a bad motor/ esc error. I will start with my first experience flying drones to give you all an idea that i am by no means an expert with drones. I have however built a few rc vehicles. My very first experience with drones was about two years ago. I bought a Latrax Alias. I got it home and started to test it out. Long story short a few days after i bought it i accidentally flew it too high and it got caught in the wind. At this point i made the choice that if i ever buy a drone again it will be one with GPS. 2 years went by and nothing really caught my eye. I dont particularly like the size of the phantom so i waited until something smaller came out that didnt impact the functionality too much. I then found the mavic and decided to pull the trigger. I was very excited about the purchase and the wait for the shipping was pure agony. It eventually arrived at my door and I couldnt be more excited. I read all of the saftey guidelines as well as registering it with the FAA. I even called a few local airports too figure out how they felt about drones. After charging it up i then took it out and flew it around a few times. At one point after getting somewhat used to the controls, i accidentally clipped a bush and the drone fell about 2ft into grass. It was a miniscule drop but i started to check everything and it seemed ok. I continued to fly it and once i was done i picked it up and almost got burnt by the right rear motor. I let it cool off and the next day i took it out again. I had read some things about the drone fighting wind and maybe overworking one of the motors to stay still. I kept the drone low just in case any unforseen failures might occur. I started getting an error that seemed like a generic warning about motor number 4 (the righ