DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Extending Range (Crazy idea)

robpiggott

Reactions
Hi All,
I am fairly new to DJI Drones after using Parrot ones for the past few years, but hopefully now I moved to DJI I would be able to complete an idea I had a few months ago.
I want to extend the range of my drone, I want to ideally do this by putting antennas on my chimney and connecting them via cable into my drone controller. Has anyone does anything like this before or got any comments on it? Really dont know where to start!
Thanks
Rob

welcome to the forum
sorry but your idea would not be practicable,

Reactions: Gindra
Now that’s what I call thinking outside the box. I’m sure somebody has tried it before though.

Hi All,
I am fairly new to DJI Drones after using Parrot ones for the past few years, but hopefully now I moved to DJI I would be able to complete an idea I had a few months ago.
I want to extend the range of my drone, I want to ideally do this by putting antennas on my chimney and connecting them via cable into my drone controller. Has anyone does anything like this before or got any comments on it? Really dont know where to start!
Thanks
Rob
The chimney will help if you get line-of-sight from there compared to obstructions if you are at ground level. However, since we are obliged to keep it in sight, this won’t make a difference. You do need to keep in mind the losses from the cables too. Probably better if you put a lawn chair on the chimney and operate from there. :)

The chimney will help if you get line-of-sight from there compared to obstructions if you are at ground level. However, since we are obliged to keep it in sight, this won’t make a difference. You do need to keep in mind the losses from the cables too. Probably better if you put a lawn chair on the chimney and operate from there. :)
How long could the cable be max realistically?