DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA Cert for non restricted airspace?

Citizen Flier

Reactions
I have an M2P for recreational use, and live in Marin County. All of the NPS Seashore area is NFZ in Marin and San Francisco (Airmap red zones). Most of the open space lands in Marin are under the jurisdiction of CA State Parks, MMWD (local municipal water district -a private entity) and Marin County Parks (Open Space). AIrmap only puts the NPS areas in the red zone. But the other entities expressly prohibit recreational drones -EXCEPT for commercial purposes with permit. So a commercial operator can get a permit and film a movie, TV commercial etc. I'm assuming the fees are substantial.

Currently, I just capture stills & some video for personal use - am only interested in landscapes of primitive areas, etc. But most of the areas I have been taking land based photos of for years are off limits to drones. My day job is commercial photographer/retoucher. And I often create enhanced landscapes for my business website. I certainly don't intend to rock the boat or make waves for recreational fliers. But I'm wondering if I get FAA certification, if it would be worth trying to get permits to capture aerials in the county. To be clear, recreational flying is prohibited, but COMMERCIAL use with fees/permit can be allowed. Of course this could well be beyond my means, as I have heard that a permit can cost $3k+. And I'm also guessing they are not issued with great frequency. Not seeking a loophole, just interested in the possibility of legal access, IF possible.

My guess is that this would NOT be a process worth pursuing. But I am interested in understanding laws/regs just as a taxpayer seeks to understand what's permitted/prohibited with tax laws, etc.
Anyone with similar circumstances? Any opinions?

The first thing to do would be to call one of the entities in question and ask them what the process and cost is.