DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA Letter Requesting My Statement/Evidence Regarding a "Law Enforcement" Interferrence Operation

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorderMavik

Reactions
I am new to this Forum, but not a new Mavik pilot. I am a long-time FAA certificated pilot. I post this to bring awareness of what a "Law Enforcement" agency, can do to make your life miserable. I have read about many "incidents" of drone pilots flying over wildfires, EMTs, rescue operations, etc. I have never done any of this, nor will I unless I have the proper clearances. What happened to me is an assault on my basic right to fly in an isolated desert. Details...June 9th, I drove over to the California Yuha Desert BLM public land and there was no one to be seen for miles...no Border Patrol, no BLM Ranger. I was there to photograph a certain section of the vehicle border barrier that was selected by CBP to be replaced with the 30 foot bollard style fencing. CBP put out a Public Notice for input and I went there to see it for myself. As I am flying my Mavik in US airspace, about 100 feet back from the official border boundary with Mexico, a young BP agent comes along and gets real close to me talking loud and asking questions. I tell him I am operating an aircraft (drone) and will talk when I land it. Not good enough for this youngster punk, he loudly peppers me with more questions, and now I lose eye contact with the drone and hit RTS just to get it back in view. Long story short, he calls his buddies and after hours of dogs sniffing and supervisor involvement, they begin to realize I am no Illegal. LOL. But then the worse happens...they call the BLM Ranger since only he has the authority to seize my Mavik, which in hindsight seems to be what they wanted. After a recorded discussion with the Ranger, I reluctantly give up my Mavik to the Ranger as "evidence" and get a Violation for "Creating a Hazard or Nuisance" and we p