DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

FAA new rules: test for recreational flyers???

GGehret

Reactions
Hi, all, I keep reading on the FAA site that under the new rules coming out, recreational flyers will have to take and pass a safety test in order to fly their drones. Do you think or know if that test requirement would be retroactive in order to be able to continue to fly or would it be just for new registrants? Just wondering...in the meantime, I'm still reading and studying the manual for part 107. IF I decided to go that route, I'm just hoping I can pass it--I'm terrible at math and memorizing numbers that involve stuff like that. My brain just doesn't work that way--I'm an English teacher!! LOL Thanks.

The test will be for anyone wishing to fly (in the US) under Recreational Rules.

The Part 107 test is really not that hard. It's not about memorizing #'s and answers but learning the subject matter so you come up with the correct answers when asked. You'll probably do a lot better than you expect.

The test will be for anyone wishing to fly (in the US) under Recreational Rules.

The Part 107 test is really not that hard. It's not about memorizing #'s and answers but learning the subject matter so you come up with the correct answers when asked. You'll probably do a lot better than you expect.
I hope so. SO far I've gotten most of the answers correct in the practice questions that follow each chapter in the book I'm reading.
I was just wondering regarding that new test whether or not current rec. flyers will have to take it to continue to fly, or will it only be required for NEW flyers?? I know this is just a "what do you think" question. :) THANKS.