FCC vs CE range.

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by MavicKhan, Oct 22, 2016.

  1. MavicKhan

    MavicKhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Cascais, Portugal
    The US FCC compliant range for the Mavis is 4.3 miles.

    The EC one is 2.5 miles.

    A while ago, when I was considering buying a Phantom, I remember there was a simple way to revert a unit bought in the EC back to the FCC range (a recessed button in the controller?).

    Do any of you happen to know if this will still be possible in a Mavic sourced from a EC country?

    Thanks
     
  2. Mad_Angler1

    Mad_Angler1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    No it's set via GPS location, there is only one version of the craft, the output can not be changed, depending on where the craft is it sets the output based on that

    So bring your craft to US and it's in FCC, take that same craft to U.K. and it will set its self to CE.

    This is not changeable.
     
  3. MavicKhan

    MavicKhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Cascais, Portugal
    Thanks.

    Major, major bummer....:(

    MK
     
  4. nocaps

    nocaps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    77
    Another way of looking at it is that the change is easy, all it takes is a plane ticket.
     
  5. stealle

    stealle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    159
    How does this translate in real world performance? Is the range limited by actual distance between the controller and the drone? Or, does the controller have reduced output in CE mode?

    Or to put it another way... let's say in FCC mode you can only get a range of 2 miles because of the conditions are not ideal. Will you still get 2 miles in CE mode under the same conditions or will the controller have reduced performance in CE mode causing maybe a 1 mile range?
     
  6. Bernard

    Bernard Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    13
    Will be changed with the Brexit negociation ! :)
     
    botasky likes this.
  7. Mad_Angler1

    Mad_Angler1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    Reduced output.

    The Mavic has more power output than the P4 in CE and I have had that over 4 miles in the correct contusions so it not an issue.


    It's all about the environment not the output.
     
  8. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Basically it will adjust transmitter power output from both the remote controller and Mavic itself.

    When in FCC mode (based on GPS location) the remote controller will output ≤26 dBm (that's just under 400 mW)
    When in CE mode (again based on GPS location) the remote controller will output ≤20 dBm (that's 100 mW)

    I do not know the downlink power output (video stream / telemetry) from the Mavic itself is, but this will be controlled the same way.

    (edit): "Better" antenna's (more dB) / and position are a key factor most of the times for a better range
     
    #8 Guest, Oct 23, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2016
  9. 4wd

    4wd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Since about 2 miles is easily possible with P3A/P on CEE - with good line of sight conditions - I suspect DJI's Mavic range estimate is conservative.
    Transmitter power does not produce a linear response in your ultimate range.
    More is generally better of course...
     
  10. RallySoob

    RallySoob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    146
    This is very interesting.. how can we confirm that our US mavic's are running in FCC mode?

    So are they advertising a 4.3mile range in countries that can only get the CE 2mile version? Just curious..

    Im sure it can be hacked if u do want to change it. Ive seen a hack for the p3p but not sure how all that works myself
     
    insainflow likes this.
  11. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7,430
    Likes Received:
    3,299
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    There is no way to visually check. This setting is set based on your Mavic's current GPS location.
     
  12. Jordan

    Jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    London
    Does anyone know/heard about MagicPower 5 for the Phantom 3/4K that can change the DBI of the remote from 17 to 27dbi? I used this on my Phantom 3 standard to improve its performance but dont know if its possible to trick the Mavic.
     
  13. Neil

    Neil Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    God's Own County. (Yorkshire)
    Yeah I used that on my P3S. I guess it's just a matter of time until someone comes up with the same thing for the Mavic.
     
  14. Jordan

    Jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    London
    I just got a 6km run on mine in the UK, good location maybe in more urban environments the extra dbi provided a stronger signal but in clear locations it's getting well over the stated CE figures.
     
  15. philippe.richard.nc

    philippe.richard.nc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    can you tell me or is it written?
    In the mavic documentation?
     
  16. Robbyg

    Robbyg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    1,725

    Does the spectrum Analyzer display in the App change readings based on the UK versus USA? I would figure that the output from the Mavic would show a bit lower in the UK.

    Rob
     
  17. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7,430
    Likes Received:
    3,299
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    I'm not sure. I've never flown outside of the US.
     
  18. MavicKhan

    MavicKhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Cascais, Portugal
    The reply to this question is contained in the movie "This is Spinal Tap."

    MK
     
  19. Biggle

    Biggle Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    8
    "So are they advertising a 4.3mile range in countries that can only get the CE 2mile version? Just curious.."

    Yes, yes they are.

    and the new Spark has a pathetic 300 meter range
     
  20. msinger

    msinger Well-Known Member
    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    7,430
    Likes Received:
    3,299
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    It's actually a little less pathetic than the Mavic's advertised range of 262 ft (80 m).

    The DJI Spark's range is ~10 ft when flying with hand gestures, 328 ft (100 m) distance & 164 ft (50 m) height when flying with a mobile device, and 1.2 miles FCC (500 m CE) when flying with the DJI Spark remote controller.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - FCC range Forum Date
Range limitations CE and FCC... going over? Mavic Pro Discussions Nov 1, 2016
Litchi, FCC or CE? Control Apps - DJI, Litchi, Autopilot, etc... Jul 23, 2017
Can Fcc mode be used in the UK? Mavic Pro Discussions Jul 10, 2017
Mavic - FCC or EU depends on GPS locations ? Mavic Pro Discussions Jul 6, 2017
Ce mood vs FCC Mavic Pro Discussions Jun 27, 2017