DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Feels like I'm flying blind!

bfgweb

Reactions
Hi all... I'm new to quad flying and really pleased to have come across this forum!

Mavic Pro unboxed couple weeks ago and am really impressed with the Mavic's performance and stability.

However, when my phone is attached to the controller the screen image is so dark (despite setting phone on full brightness) I can't see any of the video footage or even read any of the 'warnings' or other data on the screen. I have no idea until I land and view footage on PC whether captured video is good quality or even recorded my target! Last two outings were complete failure as firstly I forgot to focus so video capture was blurred and ISO settings insufficient on second attempt. I can see the drone but I can't see what the drone is seeing hence I feel like I'm flying blind!

How do you 'experts' get round this issue? Are there any recommended phones, tablets or screens which you find are better than others?

I, as well as many others, used the iPad mini 4 (cellular in my case). It fits perfectly in the controller's legs and I have never had any issues at all! It is responsive and the image it projects is great! It's a bit costly but well worth the money!

Reactions: HVYMTL
So do I follow you correctly that you can see your phone screen just fine until you place it into the controller mount? (As in you might have a screen auto brightness sensor getting covered up causing the phone to "think" it is night time turning down the screen brightness?? Shut off the phone adaptive screen brightness perhaps?)

Reactions: Ping^Spike
If the light sensor is being covered you could get round it perhaps by using longer USB in bottom full size socket then no need to push phone so far into the arms.
The short USB lead supplied is not very good quality anyway.