DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Final Light- Selection for my Mini- Firehouse Arc II content

vindibona1

Reactions
Democratic Peoples Republic of Crook County
As a new pilot, with about 10 days of (functional) drone ownership under my belt, I felt that I needed a good light to spot my mini. A few days ago I'd visually lost it even though it was at eye level, probably less than 200 ft away. If I were more experienced with FPV I might be feeling and thinking differently. At this time I thought most importantly was finding a light that could tell me when the MM was pointed at me. A few days ago I came across this model light; the Arc II in a headlight mount. As a beginner I like having a light on the front, but I also wanted mounting options. So with the modern wonders of velco technolgy I came up with three different ways I would mount the light to my Mavic Mini. [See photos below] Yeah, it was $40, more than I thought I was willing to spend, but the thing is bright and I guess meets FAA collision avoidance standards.

First flight, with the headlight mount in broad daylight I took it few hundred fee out and over 200 ft up. With the strobe facing me I had no trouble seeing when the MM was pointed right at me and made it easier for me to know which way to push the sticks. No problem spotting it where I was having difficulties before. When it was way up in the air and I'd brought it back overhead to bring it down I completely lost sight of it, and had to rely on FPV to know it was right above me. I'm not sure if mounting on the bottom would have helped me as looking straight up a 100 feet+ is hard. I know I really like this light. The question is, in the opinion of the more experienced, should I typically mount it in front, top or bottom?

[FWIW, the light is held in the mount via velcro]

Arc_mounting.jpg
Arc_BottomMount_Velcro.jpg