DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First Flight With Mavic Mini And Worried About Safety

DreamGuyxo

Reactions
Hey Im new to flying drones,

I came here for some advice and tips. I notice that the drone is very powerful for such a little device and Im a little worried about flying especially outside with everything going around. My first flight was indoors and I would appreciate some tips from you guys about flying it at open field parks and outside. What are some tips that could ease my mind with flying. Btw I have a blast when I fly it indoors ,

thanks

I'm not sure if the Mini has beginner mode, but start out there. Remove that limit once you're a bit more comfortable. Expand your distances a bit more each time you fly, and eventually you'll be flying like a pro. Sort of. It does take lots of practice.

There is nothing wrong with feeling a bit apprehensive when you fly. It helps keep you humble. Most accidents and incidents happen when people think they're so good they don't worry about things. Safety and mitigations should always be the first thing you go over when you get on location to fly, and the last thing you think about before lift off.

But always remember to have fun!

I’m still a tad nervous when I fly but that’s part of the fun for this old man. Find a large open field and practice basics — Flying in Squares, then Ovals, then Figure 8s. Have fun flying???

I would start off in C mode to get a feel for the drone how ever make sure you are in a wide open space due to the turns being really slow and it might not be able to turn quickly in time to miss a tree [emoji268] or etc.☹️

The mini is a great drone to start off with
I do so enjoy flying mine around often
Have fun and enjoy

Indoors are the wrong places to start, as it might have some positioning faults. Stay outside.
Until you get used to the controllers you might spend some time with the "c mode".