DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First fly away. Got lucky.

jac1957

Reactions
Had my first Mavic Mini flyaway a few days ago. All rookie mistakes. Windy day. Flying around a lake (large flat area allowed wind to gust hard and fast). My trouble started when i was 75 ft altitude and 175 ft distance. Wind took the drone out to about 705 ft distance. OH! and before I forget I was in C mode doing video. Tried to RTH. drone went to 95 ft and really struggled. BY now i am seeing visions of a watery grave for my drone. RTH didn't work so tried a manual return. Luckily i still had about 50% battery. Managed to fight it back to where i was. But again being a rookie I didn't think to go to S mode and drop my altitude. Now i know better. Lessons learned? Pay attention to wind conditions. Know the limits of your equipment. Take a few seconds in a case like this and think what you should do. And while the Mini is a good strong drone for its size it is still an ultralight and wind can be its enemy. One other thought this flight was 12 minutes long and i was once again lucky i didn't lose contact with my Mini.

Also, whenever possible fly out against the wind and return with it. Gives a margin of safety related to battery life.
Good advice. Learned from experience Thumbswayup

HI. I think a lot of us make the same mistake of setting the RTH height too high and forget it which of course is wrong and that's why some get of us get fly away's because the RTH is set too high and the bird find's it's too windy at the set height and you get a fly away.

Reactions: phantomi
Now we are just arguing semantics. The point is I had a problem and made some mistakes and I learned from those mistakes. Was hoping someone else would learn from my mistakes.
The semantics are important.
Years ago at the dawn of DJI time, flyers would lose their drones and not understand why.
That was the genesis of the "flyaway".