DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

First week with Mavic 3

SkySteve83

Reactions
Site
www.stevesanacore.com
After about a week or so with my new Mavic 3, I do have some opinions. I'm new to owning a drone but have experience using them for photo shoots.

First, the fancy case, although very well made is just not designed for a pro. There is no space for extra accessories that I need when flying; ipad mounts, tools, SD cards, and card readers, etc. It is also very bulky because of its backpack option with too many straps that few will probably ever use. A nice LowePro photo backpack would be way better with more room for more parts.

Second, having to use the touchscreen to adjust f-stops and shutter speeds is slow and difficult when trying to fly and get the job done. A few extra dials on the remote would make a huge difference.

Thirdly, I'm surprised there is no lens cap. I've never had a camera that didn't have a way to cap and protect the lens. Even though it goes behind that overall drone cover, it would still be nice to cap the lens so the drone can be left out on a job in between shots without worrying about the lens or filters getting dirty or scratched.

Fourth, the tiny slow telephoto is worthless for anything I would need it for. It's not a real zoom lens, and too soft even at its native focal length. The first thing any serious photographer does with any camera is diable digital zooming. I can see doing that with a cheap consumer product but trying to call this a zoom in a semipro product is silly.