DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flight training - recommendations

wjtvet

Reactions
I am new to drone flying and hope you can give me recommendations for pilot training in general and the Mavic 2 in particular.
The MP2 flies so well on its own but I want to be a better pilot.
Thansk in advance for your help.

Bill

I am new to drone flying and hope you can give me recommendations for pilot training in general and the Mavic 2 in particular.

Bill
FLY... FLY ... FLY ...

Flying a Drone - is like Playing the Piano , or singing a Song - ….

Its really good when its your Own Style !
Just Fly a 100 flights recording out loud to yourself - what you learnt NEW on each flight-

Push your limits a Bit each time -

Soon you'll be an awesome pilot -

Hi Bill - Welcome to the forum ...
Watch a load of YouTube vid's that are targeted at new owners / users. They have a lot of good advice, including the basic checks that you should do on your Drone before you even get it in the air. e.g.:

In regard to training, a good start is to get the Drone in the air, then set 'Tripod' mode (T on the side-switch of your controller). This will slow the drone right down and allow you to be overly harsh with the controls, without things happening too suddenly. Take off with the Drone facing away from you, so that all the controls work the way you expect them to (yaw and roll to the right, goes right!). Get up to about 10 metres (30 ft) and just fly boxes ... right-turn box followed by a left turn box. This gets you used to how you need to put yourself in the pilot seat and know that when the drone is coming back to you, you push [stick] right to turn [to your] left ... Keep finding and pressing the pause button to stop the Mavic - and get used to where that button is. Later on, if you are flying faster and you need to stop things in a hurry! Just press 'Pause' ...