DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Fly with gimbal protector on?

Reactions
I just watched a tutorial video on the DJI website, produced by DJI. The Mavic Pro in the shot is flying with the gimbal protector on. I was under the impression you had to remove that to fly. Can anyone clear that up for me (I'm a newb, just bought my M2P 2 weeks ago). Image attached is from the video I referenced, which is on the TapFly feature.
protector on.png

Reactions: Bill combs
You are correct, you need to remove the cover when flying. You will get DJI Go errors otherwise (Gimbal obstruction) and of course no gimbal action for photography.

That doesn't look like the stock M2P cover though. It almost looks like an after-market protector that would allow full movement of the gimbal. I still wouldn't used one though, because optics (why spend more for a higher model drone with a Hasselblad lens if you're going to cover it with cheap plastic?).

If it's not something like that, then it's a pretty big DJI blunder to put that image up.

Chris

You’ll have noted the second piece of the gimbal protector which prevents gimbal motion. I’d remove it(and do so every time I fly). This allows the “gimbal dance” at startup.
Take it all off before startup.

I have forgotten to take it off a few times and it gives you a gimbal error and a terrible picture through it.
landed quickly and removed cover and all was good.

Another good reason to use a pre flight checklist.

I just watched a tutorial video on the DJI website, produced by DJI. The Mavic Pro in the shot is flying with the gimbal protector on. I was under the impression you had to remove that to fly. Can anyone clear that up for me (I'm a newb, just bought my M2P 2 weeks ago). Image attached is from the video I referenced, which is on the TapFly feature.
View attachment 84348