DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in big cities (Atlanta)

FlyBoi

Reactions
Hi all!

I am a part 107 certified operator. I do jobs for commercial real estate developers with properties in and around Atlanta. I am super nervous about flying in the city due to Part 107 regulations. However I have seen several pilots with night time shots of our city andday time around our largest buildings and capital.

My question here is how? How is this possible with these folks getting great footage/photos well above 400’AGL in Class B airspace? Not to mention the night flying which waivers are not handed out over night for. Also with so many people in a dense city the chances of not flying over someone is very rare. Again my question is how?

If you currently are Part 107 certified I would love your perspective and thoughts. I would love to do the same but do not want to risk getting in trouble.

Reactions: Orangetigerpaw
Hi all!

I am a part 107 certified operator. I do jobs for commercial real estate developers with properties in and around Atlanta. I am super nervous about flying in the city due to Part 107 regulations. However I have seen several pilots with night time shots of our city andday time around our largest buildings and capital.

My question here is how? How is this possible with these folks getting great footage/photos well above 400’AGL in Class B airspace? Not to mention the night flying which waivers are not handed out over night for. Also with so many people in a dense city the chances of not flying over someone is very rare. Again my question is how?

If you currently are Part 107 certified I would love your perspective and thoughts. I would love to do the same but do not want to risk getting in trouble.