DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying in state forests in NY

balkanwolfy

Reactions
Hello all, I’m a mavic mini pilot. I do occasional flying at cool spots I see and try and make sure it’s all legal and safe. I know in NY state parks are out of the question without permit and also know that national parks are off limits completely. My understanding is that national forests and state forests are safe to do so as long as staying away from designated wilderness areas and protected areas. Am I under the correct assumption? Can someone with more experience clear it up for me? Thank you so much. Also if anyone can recommend some good flying spots I’d be super grateful, I’m located in Centra New York.

As posted on the other place you asked...
You are correct in regards to National Forests. State laws vary so check locally fo those.
Here’s a start:
Also check the NOTAMS on the FAA site.

As posted on the other place you asked...
You are correct in regards to National Forests. State laws vary so check locally fo those.
Here’s a start:

Thanks. I read all those resources. I’m just trying to see if anyone with ny state experience or that knows the state forests laws can clarify for me. The link you provided only specifies state parks and recreation areas. Not state forests. Thanks

Hey! Fellow CNYer here. I guess if there's no law or regulation saying you can't fly in a state forest, it's fair game, right?

Just stay out of the state parks and adirondacks. Chittenango Falls State Park can be flown into legally from outside the park if you have a bigger drone that you can maintain VLOS on from farther away.

Here’s a start:

Hello new to the forum. Glad that I checked in he here because I was wondering where I could find drone law in NY. Thanks Thomas for the link.

Hey! Fellow CNYer here. I guess if there's no law or regulation saying you can't fly in a state forest, it's fair game, right?