DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying Indoors in a building in Controlled Airspace...questions.

SteadiDrone

Premium Pilot
Reactions
Newish FAA Drone Pilot here, all of my flying so far has always been outside controlled air space and no authorization needed.
Before I was an FAA drone pilot I went to go fly the drone, Mavic 2 Pro in a parking lot just to 25 feet to see the top of a one story building, and it would not let me take off. I apparently was in controlled air space. After that I decided to get my FAA Drone Pilot license so I could do that properly if needed.

In two weeks I may have to fly my Mavic 2 Pro indoors, in a roller skating rink.
The Roller skating rink is located in Controlled Airspace.

It doesn't feel like I'd need authorization for this, clearly, but do I need authorization for this?
And if so, how does the Mavic 2 Pro know I have authorization and will allow me to take off in the controlled air space even if I have GPS signal while indoors?

Thanks all.

What does "FAA drone pilot" mean? Do you have your part 107 certification, or did you just get your FAA registration number?

Chris

If you have no gps then the drone does not know where it is. Indoors (no gps) mine thinks it is somewhere south of Africa's 'bump', probably 0 lat 0 long.
I am not sure if the drone or the app can read anything from the phone because I have the recollection that sometimes I have seen odd messages about position whilst in the house. But I rarely give such messages any notice. Out doors it would be a different matter.
If you switch off the phones location services whilst outside the controlled airspace and switch it to airplane mode as well it might prevent the phone determining where it is via cellular network data.
Test it all before hand at the site.
One other concern, if there will be skaters and or an audience, do you have insurance?

Last edited by a moderator: