DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying near hospital with helipad - question

Matriculated01

Reactions
So I am picking up my MM Dec. 19th, am a total and complete newbie who has never flown a drone before, and I’ve been making an effort to educate myself about safe/legal drone flying before the drone even gets here. I have a question about flying near my house. There is a hospital nearby That has a helipad. Now, I am in a “free to fly” zone according to the FAA map that I checked out and also the B4UFLY app which I downloaded. But the hospital is 0.56 miles away from me. The app says “Good to go, no advisories but stay alert.” Am I ok flying here?

So I am picking up my MM Dec. 19th, am a total and complete newbie who has never flown a drone before, and I’ve been making an effort to educate myself about safe/legal drone flying before the drone even gets here. I have a question about flying near my house. There is a hospital nearby That has a helipad. Now, I am in a “free to fly” zone according to the FAA map that I checked out and also the B4UFLY app which I downloaded. But the hospital is 0.56 miles away from me. The app says “Good to go, no advisories but stay alert.” Am I ok flying here?
You might find that the dji geo zones will stop you from flying at your location

There are (2) different answers for you.

A) Legal Standpoint - As of today, 12/12/2019 you can LEGALLY fly where you're at with no notification or approval of any kind so long as you're in Class G airspace. If you're not in Class G that's a whole other scenario. There is no "5 mile from the airport notification" requirement any longer.