DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying out of line of sight

Robbie-O

Reactions
Newbie here with a newbie question.

How comfortable are you flying your Mavic out of your direct line of sight and how many flights did it take you to start venturing farther?

On the whole, this little drone seems relatively straightforward to fly if you're taking it easy and focusing on image capture. But I feel like it'll be a while before I send it out a mile or more.

Any tips for safely operating at a distance? One YouTuber recommended staying behind the vector of a longer flight so you can more easily scan for obstructions.

Reactions: PharmAir
If youre going to do that, #1 is to have a good liability, drone damage, and loss policy (most times 3 different policies). Refresh, State Farm (or the like) and AMA. Also a Marco Polo or Trackimo device in case it goes down.

Looks like youre in London, so whatever the British equivalent of drone damage policy and model aviators insurance.

I dont send my MP out much further than LOS. If its beyond me being able to run over to it in the area it could potentially go down I dont fly there. That said I do have insurance now and I have flown it over water but flying it miles away from me isnt something I would do.

I started flying racing quads and you just dont fly them too far away so maybe just a habit i cant break....