DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Flying over water

JESTER79

Reactions
Hi all,
I’m a newbie and have only got my MPP in the past month and have only done a few flights and still testing the capabilities and learning as I go.
Just wondering has anyone else (that live near the sea or lakes) gone on missions way out on water and been worried about their baby losing signal or being hit by a seagull! I have only gone about 200mtrs offshore but am wanting to venture our past ships that are at an anchorage point around 3km out.
Cheers
PJ

Hi all,
I’m a newbie and have only got my MPP in the past month and have only done a few flights and still testing the capabilities and learning as I go.
Just wondering has anyone else (that live near the sea or lakes) gone on missions way out on water and been worried about their baby losing signal or being hit by a seagull! I have only gone about 200mtrs offshore but am wanting to venture our past ships that are at an anchorage point around 3km out.
Cheers
PJ

Shots taken with my MPP. I didn’t get too close to the water and turned downward sensors off.

Hi all,
Cheers
PJ

You might want to consider using Litchi to automate your flights. We have a DSAR water mission coming up in 2 weeks. The mission i 13 minutes long, all over water.

I have only gone about 200mtrs offshore but am wanting to venture our past ships that are at an anchorage point around 3km out.
Flying at sea is safer and better than on land.
Nothing to hit and no interference.

Reactions: CJH92474
grip it and rip it. I have flown miles out to sea and I am over the river a lot since it is right by my house. I think you are safer over the water when it comes to range and interference potential. But if you misjudge or your settings "land" your aircraft then you have a problem.

Great footage! Very beautiful! Love the downward shots at 1.14 minutes.

Thanks. Scary! I wasn’t exactly standing next to it.