DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Air 2 From railroad to ship, Coal loading on the Great Lakes

Narsh

Reactions
Here are a couple of videos showing the process of loading coal from rail cars onto lake freighters. The coal is transported from Kentucky, West Virginia, and southern Ohio via rail to Sandusky, Ohio, to then be distributed to various ports on the Great Lakes.

Note: There is no sound on these videos. This is my first attempt to share videos.

The first video highlights the Canada Steamship Lines “Ret. Hon. Paul J Martin”. It is a 740-foot self-unloading vessel. You will see the unloading conveyor on the (Aft) of the ship. It is extended outward to get it out of the way when loading. More info about this ship, go here… Rt. Hon. Paul J. Martin, H.M. Griffith

The second video (which is in 1.5 speed to save time) concentrates specifically on the dumping process. You will notice when there are delays, the ship is actually slowly being moved fore & aft in order to more evenly load it. You will see a carrier, called a Barney from the left, pushes the full rail car, one at a time, up a ramp into the unloader. The unloader then lifts the car and then inverts it upside down dumping the coal into a hopper placing it into the hull of the ship. The empty car gets set back on the tracks and gets pushed away by the next incoming car. The empty car then goes off the platform to the right to a ramp with a switchback where it then travels by gravity all the way to be re-coupled with the empty train.