DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Get M2P now or wait for M3? What about autel evo ii?

OurAngryBadger

Reactions
Hope this type of post is allowed.

Right now, I'm only a spark owner. It's mostly serving me well. I'm primarily a real estate photographer and I mostly use it to take a few photos of homes as add-ons to the ground photos. It's decent for this purpose. The photos aren't great but the quality is fine for just a few exterior photos.

Recently though, I don't know what it is, but I'm getting a lot more people interested in the drone work, specifically people wanting video. I've done 3 videos for real estate agents with the spark in the last 2 years, and while they were happy with the video, I just look at them taken with a 2-axis gimble and they kind of make the perfectionist in me puke.

Not only that, but I'm starting to get more inquiries from large businesses that want super high res photos, something better than the spark. I have to turn these down.

So I've been thinking about getting the M2P. I have some big concerns about this though. While it's a great drone, it IS now what, like 2 or 3 years old? Generally, I don't like purchasing tech in it's 2nd year, I don't like investing in something that's going to be obsolete soon. If the price was lower on it I would feel better, but I think right now it's even more expensive than when it came out. And then I could see DJI releasing the Mavic 3 in 6 months and the value of my "new" M2P would drop like a brick.

Even more worrying is the FAA's remote ID BS. It seems, from what I gather, that when remote ID comes, you will need a new drone and all the old drones will essentiallly be bricked. I wish DJI would make a statement or be more clear if the older drones like M2P can be firmware fixed to be remote ID compliant, but it seems they want to leave us in the dark guessing.