Welcome Mavic Pilot!
Jump in and join our free DJI Mavic community today!
Sign up

Gimbal causing magnetic Interference.

job996

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
29
Likes
1
Age
51
#1
Just figured out that the Gimbal position on my Mavic causes Magnetic Interference.
When pointed down, Compass to comes up with Mag Int, as soon as I bring it back up, it returns to normal.

Any ideas on a fix?
 

FoxhallGH

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
512
Likes
311
Age
60
Location
Suffolk - UK
Website
www.foxhallsolutions.com
#2
Very strange ... I'd suggest that this may be a combination of a couple of things. The gimbal would be taking some current to keep it pointing down, than it would to be level (relaxed), so I'd suggest that you have some other magnetic source in the vicinity that adds to the [very small] electromagnetic effect of the gimbal current - or you have a system fault in your Mavic. So - my questions are:
1) Is this only happening on the 'bench' - or does it do the same when flying?
2) If you allow the gimbal to do the 30 deg' rotate up [in Go 4] - does it also show the same mag' error when you rotate the gimbal up??
 
Likes: job996

job996

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
29
Likes
1
Age
51
#3
Very strange ... I'd suggest that this may be a combination of a couple of things. The gimbal would be taking some current to keep it pointing down, than it would to be level (relaxed), so I'd suggest that you have some other magnetic source in the vicinity that adds to the [very small] electromagnetic effect of the gimbal current - or you have a system fault in your Mavic. So - my questions are:
1) Is this only happening on the 'bench' - or does it do the same when flying?
2) If you allow the gimbal to do the 30 deg' rotate up [in Go 4] - does it also show the same mag' error when you rotate the gimbal up??
It happens both on the bench and in the air. If I look at the 2 compasses while on the bench, and rotate the camera downward, number 2 compass goes of the rails and Magnetic Int kicks in.
Yes, when it rotates up the Mag Int is cleared after a short delay and it goes back to normal. Rotate it back down and it comes straight back to Mg Int. Good thing is, it doesn't affect the controls, just the uncertainty of it causing a flyaway!
 

FoxhallGH

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
512
Likes
311
Age
60
Location
Suffolk - UK
Website
www.foxhallsolutions.com
#4
There is something strange happening in gimbal land. I'd expect the gimbal drive unit to draw current when it was in motion, but stop doing so when at rest. So when you rotate up and it clears the error, I'd expect you to see the same when it rotates down ... Have you done a gimbal calibration run??
 

job996

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
29
Likes
1
Age
51
#5
There is something strange happening in gimbal land. I'd expect the gimbal drive unit to draw current when it was in motion, but stop doing so when at rest. So when you rotate up and it clears the error, I'd expect you to see the same when it rotates down ... Have you done a gimbal calibration run??
Tried absolutely everything from the forums and DJI guide. It ws only yesterday that I found out it was the Gimbal causing it.
Once rotated down and left in the position, the Mag Int remains, so I think it has something to do with the positioning of the Camera. Even removed the filter in case that was having an effect!
 

FoxhallGH

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2018
Messages
512
Likes
311
Age
60
Location
Suffolk - UK
Website
www.foxhallsolutions.com
#6
OK - did a bit of searching on Google, and it sent me right back to this forum ... Have a look at this:
Mavic Pro Compass Error (Magnetic Interference when camera facing down) ...
It appears that this problem is rare but not unheard of, and can be cured using a tool designed for de-magnetising metals. I did a search on Amazon.co.uk and found this ... https://www.amazon.co.uk/Duratool-D...29&sr=8-2-fkmr0&keywords=c-fixer+demagnetiser ... which appears to be similar to the yellow tool pictured in the original post.
 

job996

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2018
Messages
29
Likes
1
Age
51
#10
Can get CFixer tool on EBay - but they are shipped from Russia. You can get them with a power cable that enables you to power the unit from a Mavic Pro battery.
ebay.co.uk ... item 283248656605
Can get CFixer tool on EBay - but they are shipped from Russia. You can get them with a power cable that enables you to power the unit from a Mavic Pro battery.
ebay.co.uk ... item 283248656605
Thank-you for your help. Most appreciated.
I will have a look at this fix, very dissappointing coming back in this state from DJI, who claim they have fully tested it and meets new requirements for a refurbed one.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
50,869
Messages
594,371
Members
75,178
Latest member
ipilot320