DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal Motor Overload- caused me to take a side crash on 3rd day

GrafXXX

Reactions
hello, newbie to the forum, I just got the Mavic air 2, so far I love it but on fathers day it was actually only 3 days old. I got a Gimbal Motor Overload error, and was actually my first error, well i stayed at hover to see if i could move the gimbal, and i could, I was approx 6 feet off the ground, with nothing above me, so I figure I just press the home button, and it said its going home words, but first it went approx 3-4 feet directly to the left and right into the vertical frame for the patio awning, then fell to the bush and the ground. Everything seemed fine and there was 1 rub mark so I got that off. But then i put it back on my target H pad to see if I could fly it, and thats when I noticed that it wasnt sitting balanced perfectly ( at first i just moved it over a foot thinking the grass underneath was not level) but then I noticed the front left leg was slightly bent inward. It wasn't visibly cracked or broken, it just looked like the further end of the leg at the light was out a little ( almost like you could just pop it back in) so I did a little research and felt comfortable loosening the 3 torx bolts for the leg, and thats where I noticed a hairline crack on both sides just underneath the area with the 2 furthest screws. So I used a little double sided tape just above the light to hold that tiny ( new gap) together, then I wrapped the leg like a Dr would on a sprained ankle with a good amount of electrical tape as that has a little stretch for me to make it snug. So my fathers day was great with the family but inside my head I was miserable, It does fly as it is only a few degrees inward and basically 98% of all the plastic is perfect, and now wrapped real nice, Im just flying it very low and close to still enjoy it. BUT I want to fix it, I dont think its worth using a refresh on i