DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Gimbal Not Working / Overload

cargun

Reactions
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Mavic & drones overall. I had a minor crash. The props were broken, apart from that everything seemed fine. I changed the props. I tried a flight, the Mavic flies just fine, my camera was recording, but a wobbbly/shaky image. I then realized my gimbal's back "anti drop hook" is also broken and the gimbal is not working at all. The flat cables seem fine [it was indeed torn], the gimbal is moving freely by hand, no physical damage seen other than the anti-drop hook, camera is working. No self test or the "gimbal dance" when turned on...

I also get an "aircraft motor overloaded. Check whether gimbal clamp is removed." alert.

What might be the problem and is there a rather easy fix?

Thanks,

Last edited:
I've dumbly crashed my Mavic indoors, from my balcony.

It flies, but I've got no image and the gimbal error like yours.

The black safety part has - don't know how- also broke as yours.

PLEASE HELP

Have the same issue. Minor crash indoors. No visible damage and no visible gimbal obstruction. Going to send to DJI. I have care refresh. We will see what happens. :/

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Well, unfortunately welcome to the club guys. :(
My camera is fully functional, yet the locak DJI service center (Istanbul, Turkey) told me that the gimbal and camera are replaced as a whole at around 400$ plus 1-2 hours service charge. I may get a new one, without the controller, to use the old as a donor.

UPDATE:
After my crash, my Mavic pro was flying just fine, the camera was working but there was heavy vibration and the gimbal was not dancing / moving at all at start-up or responding to the remote commands.
After being quoted a ridiculous amount (half the cost of the Mavic Pro) for a whole gimbal replacement I had three options: