DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

GIS Question

Planet_Earth

Reactions
Hello!

This may not be the right place to post this, but I was looking for a good GIS app to use with my Mavic 2 Pro. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Am I asking the wrong question (I'm new to GIS, but my understanding of the concept is exciting)?

Not sure what you want out of GIS, as there are many different areas within GIS. I have done a few ‘mapping’ projects around some lands I own in BC and Alberta using the DroneDeploy app to setup the flight plan and to do the post processing. It has worked well for me. Good luck!

If you are more specific on what your intent is I might be of some help. Your post is a bit vague.

Yeah, please get us some details what you intend to do!
If it's such a basic thing like displaying your flight route over a basemap, then you don't need a fully fletched GIS solution. ;)

As the GIS industry standard, ESRI has ArcGIS unlocked available for non-commercial use at $100 per year- trust me, thats a deal if you want to learn about GIS, and there are lots of tutorials for it. GrassGIS and QGIS are free open source GIS, but have limitations compared with ArcGIS in that they cannot do 3d mapping from photos as well.

If you really want to do it right, get programs like ArcGIS and use DroneDeploy or Agrisoft to do 3D mapping from your drone photography. But together the commercial versions cost at least twice the amount than a Mavic 2 Pro :(

A cheaper option is using a pay as you go cloud based 3D photo mapping tool like Mapsmadeeasy.com, or a free versions reviewed here:

Last edited:
Yes, my question was a bit vague, and I apologise. Sometimes I have trouble asking the what I'm seeking.

@AMann Thank you for those suggestions! I will check them out.