DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Going to buy DaVinci Resolve, should I install 17 or 18 Beta?

WildcatDave

Reactions
Wondering if the added features in 18 is worth the (possible) issues with running beta software. Since I am new to DR it might be better to jump in with 18 instead of learning 17 and then having a new version to learn. Although I'm sure they change very little in the UI and mostly add features like Adobe commonly does. My current video editor is PowerDirector 16, which is old and does not support 10-bit video. Opinions...

Wondering if the added features in 18 is worth the (possible) issues with running beta software. Since I am new to DR it might be better to jump in with 18 instead of learning 17 and then having a new version to learn. Although I'm sure they change very little in the UI and mostly add features like Adobe commonly does. My current video editor is PowerDirector 16, which is old and does not support 10-bit video. Opinions...
I have Resolve 17 Studio and briefly used the 18 Beta.... it didn't do much to help the video work that I do and was buggy enough & locked up enough times that I went back to Resolve 17.

If you want to get your feet wet first..... you can install the free version of Resolve. It does 10 bit plus UHD 4K video and will do 85% of what the Studio version will do. You can import 5k+ video in the free version but it will only output at 4K.

I left Adobe when the subscription price became too high for me to justify. Looked hard at Resolve Studio, and while the price was fine, the 'node' based workflow just didn't make sense to me (at the time). For the last four years I have used Power Director and am on version 19 now.