DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

GPS lock.... from high-rise... after take off?

CaptinCrunch

Reactions
Hello there everyone. New operator here, 1st drone, 1st post (please be kind... LOL LOL
21_2x.gif
)

Scenario:
  • Launching from 10th floor blacony
  • Building stands at 30 stories
  • Ability to hand launch and land (practiced at ground level)
  • RTH height set to 100 meters (taller than building)

Problem:
  • Due to balcony location, Mini Pro 3 only gets up to 9 or 10 GPS satelite, from the 10th floor.
  • This results in Mini Pro 3 never getting a GPS lock, but DJI RC reports it can still take off (with caution)
  • As I am new to flying, would like to always use "Return to Home" fuction for now

Extra info:
  • At ground level, and about 20 feet away from the building in question, GPS count goes up to 15+, and establishes lock easily

Question:

>>>>To circumvent this non-locking issue:
  • As I can manual launch by hand
  • can I launch, and fly 20 - 30 feet away from building (from 10th floor)
  • Hover
  • and wait for the GPS to lock, similar to how it is capable of doing so at the ground level?

Thanks in advance for your help, one of the main reasons for buy the drone, was to be able to do flights from balcony...

Yes, but it will set the homepoint at that location rather than the building balcony. So two things when flying from this location:
  • When flying away from the balcony to get a lock, head for an are that doesn't have people, cars, etc. below where the lock occurs and the home point is set.
This is so the drone automatically lands in a safe place should calamity strike, and you lose a control (like your RC has a hardware failure).​
  • After getting a lock, ascend above the building, point the camera straight down, position yourself directly over where the balcony is, and reset the HP to the drone location.