DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Greetings from Carmel, Indiana

TheFalcon

Reactions
Hello fellow Mavic Pilots,

I just started droning a couple of weeks ago, and I found myself on this site so many times that I figured I might as well join!

I’ve owned a toy drone for several years (a Syma X22) but haven’t flown it much (especially since I lost the battery charger during my recent move). It seemed like drones were quite the thing a few years ago, but more recently, after flying my drone in the park (and right into a tree!), I wondered why I never saw anyone flying drones any more. Were they illegal to fly outdoors now due to new privacy laws?

Then a couple of weeks ago I was visiting my girlfriend in Santa Fe and I saw someone flying their drone at the Rio Grande Gorge. I thought to myself, “wow, he must be getting some incredible shots!” I used to be a photographer, but had lost interest a few years ago.

I looked up the laws and was surprised to find that, with some restrictions, they are entirely legal to fly!

So I ended up getting a Mavic Mini, and the rest is history! I’ve become completely obsessed ever since, and just purchased a Mavic 2 Zoom as well. (I’m not sure I even need the Mini any more, and would be curious to know what others do with their Minis once they upgrade.)

Drone technology is absolutely amazing, and it has completely reignited my interest in photography.

Happy Droning, everybody!

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . ?