DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Handling hostile members of the public

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've never flown NOT standing on my property so I don't have that problem.

Yep.
That video was posted here a couple of years ago.
The whole idea of confrontation makes me uncomfortable while flying. I am not 107. I am a retired guy looking for fun and footage to occupy my retirement. I am a pure hobbyist.

If confronted with a complainer like this, especially here in Miami, I would just leave, rather than get shot, which is sometimes likely to happen with some crazy people around. As I have said many times, I fly stealth. Sneak in and out ASAP. People are just plain uncomfortable with drones.

Yesterday, after my tennis game at my private tennis club, I flew over the courts at a fairly high altitude of 70 feet. I could not hear the drone. Yet one of the players complained. Go figure! (working on that video right now-soon to to appear on a computer coming to your neighborhood).

Reactions: Alky1229
I don't subscribe to the stealth method. I don't have anything to hide, why should I act like I'm doing something wrong? If you go that route, then people will question your motives.

I try to explain what I'm doing when people are come up. While I won't let them fly it, I'll let them see the screen. Then I'll ask if they would like a picture emailed to them. A little kindness goes a long way in battling what is, for the lack of a better term, ignorance.

I have had one neighbor go from "are you spying on us" to "can you take an overhead shot of my house?".

To stealth or not to stealth....

I don't go out of my way to be stealthy, but then again, I don't fly from locations around people as much as possible. In other words, I try not to attract attention. So far, my experience with the public has been merely curios inquiry.

Reactions: Chuckinay