DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Height limitation flying over water

Jman13

Reactions
Site
www.jsteelephotos.com
So today I was flying my Air 2S over the Scioto River for some shots of Columbus, and the wind and water were exceptionally calm (1-2mph winds). At some points, I was around 10 feet over the water, then I flew higher for a while. I was trying to get a specific shot with a bridge framing the city, and tried to lower the drone to get the correct angle. However, at that point, it would not let me get any lower than 33 feet above the water. I didn't want to press down much harder because I didn't want it to think I was trying to land the drone on the river...but it was weird.

Is this the obstacle avoidance getting confused by the reflection of the water? I assume I would have been able to go lower if I turned off obstacle avoidance, but since I'm a new pilot, I didn't want to push it. I had no problems landing the drone manually once I pulled it back over land. Anyone else experienced this?

Reactions: a2tomm and Gagey52
quite likely re: the confusion. the manual even discusses this and you were smart not to push it. many folks have lost their drones because of this kind of thing.

However, at that point, it would not let me get any lower than 33 feet above the water. I didn't want to press down much harder because I didn't want it to think I was trying to land the drone on the river...but it was weird.

Is this the obstacle avoidance getting confused by the reflection of the water?
Drone flyers are a lot more confused about flying over water than DJI drones ever are.
What you've described sounds unusual.
You shouldn't have any minimum height limit over water, just like you don't over land.

Perhaps your recorded flight data would have some clues to explain the issue.

Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.