DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello From El Cajon, CA

GrandDad48

Reactions
New to the forum, but I've been flying for a year and half. I'm a semi-professional photographer, retired engineer and operations management professional. I first bought a Mini 2 to see if I'd like shooting from a drone. I was instantly hooked, not only with the photos, but with the 4K video opportunities. After a "trial period", I gave the Mini 2 to my son and bought the Air 2S. Still a newbie at video processing, but trying to improve.

Hello from the Crossroads of America GrandDad48.

Nice to meet you Larry. 🤝

Welcome to the Forum. 😎

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . Thumbswayup

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching . Thumbswayup
Thanks, dirkclod.

Reactions: Droniac
Welcome. You live in one of my favorite parts of California. No doubt you will find great places to fly.
Thanks, JoelP. Well, the weather is great, but there are 12 airports in the county, so it does make things a bit tight. 😎 But the ability to go from the beaches to 6,000‘ mountains to the desert in 2 hours does make for some varied shooting locations.

When I was in grad school at Riverside in 1970 I flew sailplanes at Perris, Hemet and Elsinore and there were large expanses of desert with nothing but desert plants. That sure changed.

On tip is to look at the BLM land where you can fly freely. Also, if you use a LAANC enabled app like Aloft you can easily file a flight plan and fly in some of that controlled airspace. That app will indicate your max altitude where you don’t need any additional waiver.