DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from London, UK

TimurA

Reactions
Hello,

I am a complete drone noob and have just purchased the Air 2 as my birthday present :) I am watching all the tutorials I can find on YouTube on all the tips and tricks, but due to the lockdown I haven't had a chance to actually fly it.

Any first time flyer advise would be greatly appreciated! I have already downloaded and checked out the AirMap app as well as got my pilot and operators IDs...

Looking forward to getting hooked on drones!

Cheers

Hello from Yorkshire, and welcome to the forum. That’s a fancy birthday present, and a great drone.
You’re already doing the right thing in watching as much useful info on YouTube as possible. I would also recommend reading the manual as much as possible, especially how return to home works, and the sensors.

Useful apps; NATS Drone assist is great for checking where you can fly. It’s the official CAA App (NATS supply airspace control and data to the CAA). UAV Forecast is good for checking flying conditions.

You probably won’t anyway - but best not to fly indooors until you get the hang of things.

Enjoy! :)

tips :

1. make sure you know how rth works and test it before you need it - personally id only use it as a last resort - ie I have no idea where it is
2. Use the mini map to work out where it is when you fly it beyond VLOS - although clearly you wont do that as its illegal
3. Not sure what direction you are facing ? going up or down ? take your fingers off the sticks and take a deep breath and slooowwwwly move the sticks to re-orient yourself
4. Fly out against the wind and fly back with the wind
5. Assume you have less battery left than its showing you
6. dont fly withut a fully charged battery
7. Stay away from people etc

There are loads more .... enjoy and wlecome ..its a great machine ..

Welcome to the forum.