DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello! From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada!

Glasswalker

Reactions
Hey! So first post :)

Complete DJI newbie, but been flying Single and Multi Rotors for a while now. Have a few other quads (racers) that I've built, designed and built a UAV Quad for Darpa back in the day, been flying single and multi rotor RC "helis" for close to a decade.

Been wanting to invest in a camera platform for a while now, and was going to build, but my Wife actually convinced me the Mavic was the way to go. She's been following Casey Neistat for a while, and knew all about the Mavic (it's uncommon for her to get the jump on me on something tech related lol).

I work in the high-tech industry, currently CTO of a software development startup.

So I literally just ordered my Mavic straight from DJI about half an hour ago. And I'm super excited. Been doing tons of research, etc. And now I can't wait to get my hands on it. (going to wear out the refresh button refreshing the shipping status page lol)

Hoping/planning on documenting my adventure with it (from unboxing, to first newbie mistakes, etc)

Also another motivator to pick one up now, is that I'm also starting a project to build a software solution for managing drones, and analysing the data they generate. So soon you should start hearing more about that from me as well (and I'll be reaching out the community to gather some data points to work on it, from DJI and other drones as well, I want it to be truly platform/vendor agnostic).

Anyway, glad to be here, and I want to say thanks as I've been lurking in this community doing my research leading up to buying the Mavic. So looking forward to contributing back and "joining" the community in earnest once my Mavic arrives!

Also eager to meet other Ottawa fliers (I know there are at least a few on here), maybe we can fly together sometime!

Is it here yet?
Is it here yet?
Is it here yet?

lol :)