DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hello from the U.P.

Hfcomms

Reactions
Hi all;

Just joined the board this afternoon and looking forward to the hobby. I have been a licensed private pilot since 1992 and have flown radio controlled airplanes and helicopters in the past. (Boy, are the helicopters hard to fly....LOL). I am also a weather buff being a pilot and hold a general class amateur radio ticket as well as a weather website on the sig line.

Decided that I would like to check out the drone community and a lot of things have changed since the last radio controlled helicopter I flew about 15 years ago. After watching all of the videos on Youtube and checking out places like this I have a Mini 3 pro on order with the extended range batteries and other accessories and am looking forward to it. I do think for being a newby it would probably be wisdom to purchase the DJI extended care package which I will do when I register the drone.

Back in the day I also did technical director and director three camera shoots using the analog equipment back in the 1990's so this hobby encompasses everything that I like. You have the video camera aspect, radio, weather and of course flying.

One of the best things I like are the redundancies built into the drones to help you fly safely with the obstacle avoidance and that of course is a major concern when you are dealing with a piece of equipment that cost $1000 on up. I've crashed more than one RC airplane back in the day and that becomes quite expensive and cost a lot of money along the way to be good at it.

Anyway, glad to join the board and as noob's with anything tend to ask basic questions that have been asked and answered hundreds of times into tedium I am going to do a bit of lurking, reading and watching videos along the way and might have some questions with post production of videos and editing as things have come a long way since doing productions on videotape.