DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help understanding LUTs

Gr8fulTed

Reactions
I am quite new to video thanks to the Osmo Pocket and have seem dozens of videos regarding Cinelike-D, most in conjunction with LUTs. I have actually downloaded LUTs for the Pocket. Now what? I can't download them to the Pocket. Do I download them to the cellphone?

Needs some gentle, clear direction.

Thanks for all helpful posts.

From what I understand, LUTs are presets that you would load into your photo/video editing software. I could be off base, but this is what I have gathered.

I am quite new to video thanks to the Osmo Pocket and have seem dozens of videos regarding Cinelike-D, most in conjunction with LUTs. I have actually downloaded LUTs for the Pocket. Now what? I can't download them to the Pocket. Do I download them to the cellphone?

Needs some gentle, clear direction.

Thanks for all helpful posts.

You import them into your video editing app (such as DaVinci Resolve 15) then apply them according to the app. Some can be combined or applied more than once to obtain the desired result.
Lots of video tutorials on YouTube.

LUTs can be very useful and often are used to speed up the process of post production video work. Instead of importing a clip into your preferred video editing software and then adjusting all of the settings. One can apply a LUT that applies all the settings at once.

Its like a macro in a sense that applies all of the adjustments in one whack. Then one can go in an tweak the fine details slightly to meet thier needs and tastes.

All these answers are correct.
Stepping back a little - and LUT is basically a collection of colour alterations that affect an image.

However. These really are designed for flat colour profiles. D-cinelike on the Osmo Pocket is not a flat profile. You can probably just add a little contrast or saturation and that’s about it.