DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Help with DJI Self Unlock

michaeltate

Reactions
Hi guys (and gals), I'm a newly licensed pilot in the Omaha, NE area. My company was hired to film a project that includes a newly built high school football field which falls in the very southwest corner of the red zone seen in the attached images. The DJI self-unlock web site shows Eppley Airfield with both a blue pin with unlock authorization available and a red pin with unlock unavailable. When I tried to submit for an application to unlock the zone we were still unable to fly in this area. Am I missing something here or are the red zones not unlock-able at all even with authorization? Why does it show both a red and blue pin if you're not able to unlock this area? The main building for the high school is mostly in a blue authorization zone but the new football field is completely in the red zone. Are we just out of luck here?

Screen Shot 2019-09-03 at 12.40.18 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-09-03 at 12.44.16 PM.png

You might be looking for a Custom Unlock...

Try this post and see if it helps any:

Reactions: michaeltate
You might be looking for a Custom Unlock...

Try this post and see if it helps any:

Thanks! I was just reading that post as well but apparently I didn't read far enough :)

Also WELCOME to the forum and to the Part 107 High Life LOL :)

Thanks Big Al! From the images I posted does it look like I would need to get authorization from Eppley airfield directly as well? I tried a LAANC approval with the Kittyhawk app but it's telling me further authorization is required. To me it seems like the red zones are just DJI being overly cautious but the football field does fall with in a yellow caution zone in the Kittyhawk app saying "Eligble for Further Coordination".