DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hi from Canberra

MikeCJ

Reactions
Hi Everyone,

Complete newbie here. After weeks and weeks of deciding to get a drone (and years wanting one), I finally ordered the Mavic Mini Fly More Combo. Very excited and can't wait to receive it. It will be my first drone and first time flying one, but always wanted to. Have a love for of aerial imagery and look forward to being able to take it out around the ACT/NSW region and then on trips around the country and overseas when the world gets back to normal.

Been reading these forums has been helpful, especially with all the rules around flying - the CASA information and the apps seem to make it pretty easy to follow.

If anyone has any tips about being new to flying a drone, the Mavic Mini in particular I'm keen to hear. Also to any others from Canberra and the ACT region who know of good places to go that are within the rules and offer amazing places to video/photograph from above.

I'd be flying from Mt Ainslie down to State Circle, but you'd probably be shot down or arrested as you get over Russell LOL.

With the MM, always fly against the wind on the outleg of the flight so you have a tailwind on the way back.

Welcome to the forum! :)

welcome to the forum,take things easy to start with ,if you do decide to go for an indoor flight then put the prop cage on,it will save the drone and you and your home from a lot of heartache should things get out of hand
personally i would not fly it indoors at first find a nice quiet spot away from trees and people and just stay low and slow in C mode, and practice practice practice find out how the control sticks fly the drone, keep it close at the start ,and if you do feel you need to put the prop cages on outside, then remember that when they are fitted your range and height are restricted ,and they make very good sails if its windy have fun learning

Welcome to the forum.