DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Hi from Liverpool UK

ped078

Reactions
Hi guys.

New Mavic pro pilot here...migrating from the official DJI forums as it looks like this forum has a technical side to it, and I'm an electronics engineer by trade.

Bought a second hand MP and took it out for its first flight (by me anyway) and it performed beautifully.

Brought it home and updated the firmware to latest official via DJI assistant 2 and the poor thing went haywire on its next flight.
Compass errors, magnetic interference ect. I tried to calibrate the compass...it failed twice but worked on the third time but again when flying I was getting compass errors.
I broght it home and saw the electronic demagnetizer for sale on ebay, but people were saying just get a strong magnet and rub it around the compass areas before forking out money, I did and it calibrated fine first time after that, is that the correct course of action? .
Not had the weather to test it.

Regards

Ped

Seems crazy that a firmware update would cause such serious problems with the AC which was working for all intents and purposes perfectly before the update!

Hope your new drone performs as expected when you fly next.

Welcome to the forum by the way ped

Reactions: Mavic Pro Platinum
Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .
0rojyyg-png.107656

Hello and welcome Ped,

Thats a strange and seemingly extreme way to get around a dodgy mag calibration, but if it worked, then hey all good.

Just remember when you Land, don't turn your back on your Mavic for too long or someone will have it up on bricks and your props will be gone (kidding, , I love dropping into Ince Blundell, smashing bunch of people up your way)